https://www.tumblr.com/audio_file/thesylverlining/74411098047/tumblr_mzvtgxjqg51qzqxfe?plead=please-dont-download-this-or-our-lawyers-wont-let-us-host-audio

thesylverlining:

thesylverlining:

I said I’d sing Defying Gravity when I hit 2,000 followers, and I kept my promise. ❤ 

This is for you. This is for every single one of you who’s sent me wonderful, encouraging, love-filled words about Chameleon Moon, or helped me through horrible, terrifying days, I am singing directly to you. Thank you. I love you. You make me feel unlimited. You make me feel like I can defy gravity. You make all of the anxiety and terror and insomnia and crying over this book for five whole years WORTH IT, because you’re listening and making me feel like I have something good and important to say. 

I am rabbit-hearted and scared when I think about the next stage in my life, but you make me brave. You make me feel like I can close my eyes, and leap.

(Which is why I changed a couple words. I don’t have a Galinda to sing to, but I have Darlings.

There’s no fight we cannot win. ❤ Dreams the way we plan them.

And when I say WIZARD – as in, ‘no Wizard that there is or was is ever going to bring me down’ – 

I’m singing to devastating depression, to excruciating anxiety, to fear, to low self-esteem, to abusers, to trauma, to chronic illness and pain, to PTSD, to eating disorders,and, yes, to our patriarchal society – TAKE A MESSAGE BACK FROM ME! NONE of those are going to bring me down. They haven’t yet. They can make my life hell but they are not going to break me. And I believe that they’re not going to break you either. Everyone deserves a chance to fly.

That’s what this song is about. That’s what Chameleon Moon is about. Defying your Wizard, and defying gravity. 

So if you care to find me, look toward the western sky! (Portland, OR, actually!) And look for Chameleon Moon on October 9th! Cause that’s when I’ll say thank you for real. And that’s what I want to say, before anything else. THANK YOU.

They’re never going to bring us down.

I’M JUST GOING TO SHAMELESSLY REBLOG THIS A COUPLE TIMES IN THE NEXT FEW DAYS BECAUSE I’M REALLY PROUD OF IT

AND JUST REALLY HAPPY. ❤ WOW. SO MUCH LOVE. SUCH AWESOME. WOW.

Leave a Reply

